Latest News

June 2016

Bame Sanah Keabetswe in the laboratory at the Okavango Research Institute in Maun, Botswana

This text is from an article on the EuroScience website. The full list of African awardees can be found there.

Thanks to the generous support of the Robert Bosch Foundation, EuroScience was able to open a call for Travel Grants to support African researchers and research administrators with their travel, registration and accommodation costs to attend the EuroScience Open Forum (ESOF) 2016 in Manchester (23-27 July 2016). Every two years, ESOF brings together 4,500 scientists and leading thinkers, innovators, policy makers, journalists and educators from more than 90 countries, to discuss current and future breakthroughs in contemporary science. ESOF therefore serves as an excellent platform where scientists, politicians and other stakeholders can meet, discuss and advance the impact of science and its applications on societal challenges, including ethical issues and policies.

With over 300 applications and just 45 grants to award, the international jury faced a tough selection. After careful deliberation, the jury is pleased to announce that SSAWRN MPhil student Bame Sanah Keabetswe has been awarded a grant to attend ESOF 2016.

Learn more about Bame and her research here, on the RISE Blog.

May 2016

© 2015 Joelia Nasaka
Thanks to efforts of Dr. Joelia Nasaka, an Assistant Lecturer at the College of Veterinary Medicine, Animal Resources and Biosecurity (CoVAB), the Mpala Research Centre (MRC) is prepared to host at least 20 Makerere University students of the Bachelor of Wildlife Health and Management, CoVAB for a week. The Centre Management, Science Initiative Group (SIG) at the Institute for Advanced Study, and Princeton University have offered US $5,000 as a contribution to costs required for the students' training.

March 2016

Prof. Denis Hughes in Prague with his wife Ros in 2015

The International Hydrology Prize is awarded annually by IAHS, with UNESCO and WMO, to two scientists who have made outstanding contributions to hydrological science. Since 2014, two medals have been awarded each year under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge Medal and the Volker Medal.

SSAWRN Academic Director Prof. Denis Hughes has been awarded the 2016 International Hydrology Prize Volker Medal. This medal honors a hydrologist who has applied his or her research and hydrological expertise to the benefit of society, in order to address issues of public interest and development.

February 2016

© 2016 Wilberforce Okwiri

Professor Kiama Gitahi (RISE-AFNNET Node Coordinator at the University of Nairobi) warns that human beings are rapidly destabilising the Earth's key life support systems; but he is determined to give his contribution to conserve the environment along the lines of Kenya's most famous environmentalist, the late Nobel Laureate Professor Wangari Maathai. Read the full article in the Standard Kenya's Sunday Magazine here.

February 2016

Bame Sanah KeabetsweMichael Oluwatosin BodunrinMasixolise Pelly MalebeAneth David
L to R (Mobile: Top to Bottom): Bame Sanah Keabetswe (SSAWRN; Botswana); Michael Bodunrin (AMSEN; Nigeria); Pelly Malebe (SABINA; South Africa); Aneth David (SABINA; Tanzania)

Four of the current RISE fellows will represent the project at the upcoming Next Einstein Forum Global Gathering, to be held in Dakar, Senegal on March 8–10. They have also been invited to participate in the pre-Forum (March 6–7) workshop sponsored by the U.S. National Science Foundation Office of International Science and Engineering: "Innovations at the Nexus of Food, Energy and Water Systems (INFEWS)."

Three of these fellows were selected as Next Einstein Forum Ambassadors: Bame Sanah Keabetswe will represent Botswana; Masixolise Pelly Malebe, South Africa; and Aneth David, Tanzania. Michael Oluwatosin Bodunrin was selected as a runner-up for Nigerian Ambassador, and SIG will sponsor his attendance at the 2016 NEF Global Gathering.