Board & Staff

SIG's board was formed in 1999 to provide scientific guidance for the Millennium Science Initiative (MSI), overseeing its development in Chile and subsequent expansion to Brazil, Mexico and Uganda, and introducing the MSI concept in other parts of the world. Board members also led an effort to initiate a Global Science Corps and guided the establishment of the Regional Initiative in Science and Education (RISE). The SIG board held its final annual meeting in 2012, after which board members served as informal advisors.



Phillip A. Griffiths
Phillip A. GriffithsChairman and Founding Member
Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey
Arlen Hastings (1999–2019)   
Bruce Alberts
Bruce Alberts (2010–2014)
University of California, San Francisco
Lori Mulcare (2007–2014)   
Mohamed H. A. Hassan
Mohamed H. A. Hassan (2004–2014)
The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), Trieste, Italy
Sarah Rich (2014–2019)   
J. Tomas Hexner
J. Tomas Hexner, Founding Member (1999–2014)
Cambridge, Massachusetts


Jacob Palis
Jacob Palis, Founding Member (1999–2014)
Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada (IMPA), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Alan Anderson (1999–2017)   
C. N. R. Rao
C. N. R. Rao, Founding Member (1999–2014)
Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore, India
Kiera Carlisle (2003–2009)
Chung W. Kim
Chung W. Kim, Founding Member (1999–2010) 
Korea Institute for Advanced Study (KIAS), Seoul, South Korea
Harold Varmus
Harold Varmus (2003–2010)
National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, Maryland