News Archive

March 2016

Prof. Denis Hughes in Prague with his wife Ros in 2015

The International Hydrology Prize is awarded annually by IAHS, with UNESCO and WMO, to two scientists who have made outstanding contributions to hydrological science. Since 2014, two medals have been awarded each year under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge Medal and the Volker Medal.

SSAWRN Academic Director Prof. Denis Hughes has been awarded the 2016 International Hydrology Prize Volker Medal. This medal honors a hydrologist who has applied his or her research and hydrological expertise to the benefit of society, in order to address issues of public interest and development.

February 2016

Bame Sanah KeabetsweMichael Oluwatosin BodunrinMasixolise Pelly MalebeAneth David
L to R (Mobile: Top to Bottom): Bame Sanah Keabetswe (SSAWRN; Botswana); Michael Bodunrin (AMSEN; Nigeria); Pelly Malebe (SABINA; South Africa); Aneth David (SABINA; Tanzania)

Four of the current RISE fellows will represent the project at the upcoming Next Einstein Forum Global Gathering, to be held in Dakar, Senegal on March 8–10. They have also been invited to participate in the pre-Forum (March 6–7) workshop sponsored by the U.S. National Science Foundation Office of International Science and Engineering: "Innovations at the Nexus of Food, Energy and Water Systems (INFEWS)."

Three of these fellows were selected as Next Einstein Forum Ambassadors: Bame Sanah Keabetswe will represent Botswana; Masixolise Pelly Malebe, South Africa; and Aneth David, Tanzania. Michael Oluwatosin Bodunrin was selected as a runner-up for Nigerian Ambassador, and SIG will sponsor his attendance at the 2016 NEF Global Gathering.

February 2016

© 2016 MUST
L to R: Prof. Celestino Obua, Vice Chancellor of Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST); Eng. Anke Weisheit, Chair of Business and Innovations; Dr. Casim Tolo, Center Leader; and Dr. Patrick Engeu Ogwang, Principal Investigator and Deputy Center Leader at a Training Session in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (February 15–19, 2016)

Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST)'s Pharm-Biotechnology and Traditional Medicine Center of Excellence for Eastern and Southern Africa is among twenty-three research centers in the region that have been earmarked for funding under a World Bank initiative designed "to establish and strengthen specialization and collaboration among a network of higher education institutions in the [...] region to deliver relevant and quality education and applied research to address key development challenges."

These centers have been conditionally selected under the US $140 million Eastern and Southern Africa Higher Education Centers of Excellence Project (ACE II).

The Pharm-Biotechnology and Traditional Medicine Center at MUST aims to train and produce experts in modern drug discovery; drug development; drug production systems; and traditional medicine standardization, production, and use. RISE-AFNNET graduate Dr. Patrick Engeu Ogwang played a crucial role in the development of this winning ACE II proposal, and he will assume the role of Primary Investigator and Deputy Center Leader once the center is up-and-running in August 2016.

February 2016

© 2016 Wilberforce Okwiri

Professor Kiama Gitahi (RISE-AFNNET Node Coordinator at the University of Nairobi) warns that human beings are rapidly destabilising the Earth's key life support systems; but he is determined to give his contribution to conserve the environment along the lines of Kenya's most famous environmentalist, the late Nobel Laureate Professor Wangari Maathai. Read the full article in the Standard Kenya's Sunday Magazine here.

December 2015

The AMMSI-Phillip Griffiths Prize is to be awarded annually, starting in 2016, to an African mathematician, living in Africa, who has made an outstanding contribution to mathematics, the application of mathematics or the promotion of mathematics, as evidenced by research and its impact.

The AMMSI-Phillip Griffiths Travel Grant is to be awarded annually, starting in 2016, to an African mathematician, living in Africa, to enable him or her visit an international research partner for a period of 1 to 3 months. The deadline for nominations and applications is 5th March 2016.

Please visit the AMMSI website for more information and to download the nomination and application forms.